Swamp Creek Stomp 5K

We (my sister and I) have decided to complete a 5K every month between now and November. (The Warm Months) This also gives us a reason to stay in jogging shape throughout the summer months. I feel like if I paid for it I better train for it and try to do well. We would also really like to do a sub 30 minute 5k at some point. Thats the long term goal. We started of on April 2 with a mud run and it was fantastic. Multiple river and creek crossings with about 6 inches of mud for most of the race almost all on wooded trails. Let me just say that we ran pretty much the entire time and it was raining and 50 degrees and it took us 54 minutes! My fit bit says I did 48 minutes of cardio I can’t believe how hard this race was or how fun. Getting muddy never felt so good. Even my brother in law Keith who usually finishes in 24-28 minutes took a whole 33 to finish this run (and get second place in his age group). Can’t wait to do this one again next year.

Leave a Reply

