Submission for Landfall

I recently learned about a show being held at SCAD over the summer called Landfall. The prompt was

Landfall seeks works by SCAD artists that depict a wide range of interpretations related to the landscape genre. This can include work that engages with environmental issues, mapping, cityscapes, and the natural world. The title also suggests a first encounter, or arrival. Submissions that celebrate the majesty and beauty of local and international landscapes are welcomed.

I had the idea of going back to one of my early beading works and elaborating on it. I would use some of the found stones, shells, and ceramics from Campobello to make a series of beaded brooches. The would be simply bezel set and embellished. I had only 2 days to make photograph and submit so a marathon beading session commenced. I worked saturday night from 8pm to 3 am and sunday from 12 pm to 4pm. If they don’t get into the show I can try to sell them at trunk show or use them in one of my Ex- Voto pieces so no loss. It was an epic beading weekend and here’s hoping for another line on my resume.

Horvath_ Campobello Stone Grey Silver 2 Horvath_Campobello ceramic 2 Horvath_Campobello shell 1 IMG_9423 IMG_9427 IMG_9449

Leave a Reply

