Little problems compiled make larger problems

2-13-13

I almost died on my way to school today. I hit a patch of ice that I thought was just salt and thank goodness I slowed down before hitting it. I bounded into the other lane and then almost back into my guardrail before I got back under control. It took a little while to calm my nerves after that fright.

Image

Today the students were finishing their phobia projects. And again I wonder how to improve their listening skills. I asked them to cut out their large phobia title from the pile in the front so they could glue it onto their final project as shown in 2 examples.

ImageImage

I also asked that they layout their pieces before gluing them on so they could get the correct spacing. About a minute later I got my first question, “miss I can only find 1 of my word?” I responded yes? And the student asked “Well isn’t there supposed to be more?” How can I possibly make it clearer. I explained it, demonstrated, and left and example up front for them to see. What else can I do to avoid these questions and the mistakes that occur when students don’t bother to ask but just do what they think is right. I can’t say how many students just glued their pieces together without checking the spacing. I got many poorly spaced and some overlapping projects. Clarity of instruction is something I will have to work on.

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

